smoothie s(m)unday

Berry Delicious Smoothie 

I meant to post this smoothie on Sunday but life got ahead of me so alas here it comes on Monday! 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond milk (vanilla or unsweetened)
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder *optional
  • heaping 1/2 C of frozen blueberries
  • 7-8 whole frozen strawberries 
  • handful of spinach 
  • 1 TB of chia seeds *optional

Meet my best friend: the magic bullet. This device is my quick save and go-to for smoothies on the run. For this smoothie, and most of my concoctions I fill my cup a little over halfway with almond milk. Today I used vanilla almond milk which has 80 calories for one cup. 

Image

Next I add my protein powder. I can’t drink dairy milk and whey because of it’s origin hurts my stomach as well so I choose plant based protein Vega Sport performance protein. I use this to get enough protein throughout the day but try to take it an hour before or right after I work out. 1 scoop of the powder has 120 calories and a whopping 26 grams of protein – right on! I also add my chia seeds here. I give this a shake to semi-combine the powder so it doesn’t get clumpy. 

Image

Next I add a heaping half a cup of frozen blueberries. I would say you could even add 2/3 of a cup. I love blueberries! They are high in antioxidants and taste so good. Then I add 7 or 8 frozen strawberries. For good measure I add a handful of baby spinach on top and then screw on the blender piece of the magic bullet. I try to sneak spinach in whenever I can. When you mix it with berries or fruit you can’t even tell it’s in there and it packs a big iron punch!
 Image

ImageImage

The finished product is a delicious purple burst of deliciousness. For those of you who haven’t tried the Vega protein powder before. It can be a bit grainy if you mix it with water or the first time you try it. It takes a bit of getting used to but I am addicted to it now. I feel so good after using it and will never go back to regular protein, although I did used to love the rocky road flavour just mixed with water.

Image

Image

 

I hope you give this smoothie a go and let me know what you think! 

with love and blueberries, 

Sarah Alicia 

 

Leave a Reply

