caramelized onion and parsnip soup

Image

This soup takes me back to right around this time last year when I was living on a farm in no man’s land Australia. The family I was living with ate a lot of meat and I am not the biggest of meat eaters, especially when dinner was the cute little goats or lambs you cradled earlier…it just wasn’t happening! I made huge batches of soup to freeze and defrost when it was necessary – and this one was my favourite! I was inspired from an old cookbook I found on the property which I think was called ‘Bowlfood – Soups’ but I’ve adapted the recipe quite a bit to my taste. 

Caramelized Onion and Parsnip Soup 

Ingredients 

  • 3 tb. margarine ( I used two margarine and one olive oil) 
  • 2 tb. brown sugar 
  • 1 C. white wine
  • 1 full box or 1L of vegetable broth 
  • 3 large parsnips (peeled and chopped)
  • 3 large onions (peeled and sliced)
  • a few sprigs of thyme 
  • a  few dashes of balsamic vinegar 

Image

I first like to set out everything I need and prep. I didn’t have three parsnips so I used two parsnips and a carrot. I think this tastes awesome and would recommend trying it both ways. I peeled and chopped the vegetables and placed them in separate bowls. One for the onion and the other for the parsnip/carrot mix. 

Image

Next melt the margarine in a large saucepan. Add the brown sugar, a few dashes of balsamic vinegar and olive oil until slightly bubbly.

Image

 

Image

Next add the onions to the saucepan. Coat the onions entirely and let them begin to caramelize for the next 10 minutes. Then add the white wine and the parsnip/carrot mix to the pan and cover letting simmer for 20 minutes. 

Image

After 20 minutes add the entire box of vegetable broth, you may also choose to use your own homemade vegetable broth in which case you would add 1L. Bring to a boil and then let simmer for 5-10 minutes. Remove from the burner and let cool slightly. Then add it in batches to your food processor or blender to combine. The original recipe called for the addition of cream but instead I add a dollop of 0% fat Greek yogurt to the middle of the soup and garnish it with sprigs of thyme. The benefit to the outback adventure was having a fresh herb garden to pick sprigs of thyme from however fresh or dried still tastes delicious. 

Image

Enjoy your soup! 

Apparently today I was inspired by root vegetables because while the soup was simmering I decided to roast some beets in the oven for my salads this week. Beets can be super frustrating to peel and chop but I promise the end result is so worth it. I peeled and chopped the beets into chunks, tossed them with a couple tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil and roasted them in the oven on 400F for 45 minutes or until you can easily stick a fork into one of them. It depends the consistency you prefer, I like them to still be a little bit crisp but others like them a bit more mushy. Halfway through cooking time I suggest taking them out of the oven and giving them a casual little flip with a spatula. If you’re a cheese eater, these are delicious with goats cheese over some spinach greens or pecans/cranberries – whatever! 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

I hope you go through the bright red stained hands and roasting time to enjoy this naturally sweet super delicious vegetable! 

with love, red stained hands and a belly full of soup, 

Sarah Alicia Harvison 

 

Leave a Reply

