raspberry protein pancakes

Image

I was inspired by my good friend Dani the other day to make some protein pancakes. After looking through a bunch of recipes and assessing what I had in the fridge I decided to create my own version. It weirded me out a bit because the raspberries made the batter look like raw meat so the pictures below look like I’m cooking a burger but I assure you – it’s the pancake! 

Ingredients

(makes 3-4 pancakes) 

  • 1/4 cup raw uncooked oats 
  • 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup fat-free cottage cheese
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop VEGA vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 cup fresh raspberries plus extra for garnish
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1.5 tbsp. cinnamon

Image

Combine all of the ingredients in a blender. Spray a non-stick pan with PAM or use a little bit of extra virgin olive oil to grease the pan and spoon the mixture into little rounds. This recipe made 3 generous pancakes and one mini pancake (perfect for two beagles to share ;)) I garnished the pancakes with a heap of cottage cheese, a few raspberries and some pure Canadian maple syrup. I really liked the outcome. This would be great with blueberries as well or instead of the raspberries. I want to try banana pancakes next time! 

Happy Protein Pancaking! 

with love and kindness, 

Sarah Alicia Harvison 

Leave a Reply

