stretching boundaries

Wow. I can’t believe I am actually here! I am so excited about the next few months and can’t wait to explore more of the town. My roommate Daniella has showed me around the village, I got to check out the lululemon I will be working at and it is gorgeous! The view from my window is incredible. There is a huge mountain with snow dusted over the top. Across from our place is a little grocery store, post office, and a few other small shops. Down the road from our house is this beautiful hotel called Nita Lake Lodge which has a yoga studio inside and lake out back. I’m going to explore the area this afternoon, check out the gym and the yoga studio before going into the village for an in-store mala making night – I’m pumped!

Last night I had the privilege of attending lululemon ambassador Erin Anderson’s Africa Yoga Project fundraiser and yoga class at the lab in Vancouver. Erin owns White Gold Yoga in Whistler and is a Baptiste trained power vinyasa yoga teacher. Erin explains on her website that… “through the Baptiste trainings I was introduced to the Africa Yoga Project which opened my eyes to the power of yoga as a means to bringing peace to the world. I am honoured to be an ambassador and team member with AYP with a mission to support a cause that will transform a country in need…visiting Africa and seeing the work in action has been truly inspiring and I look forward to continuing to support this powerful movement.” The Africa Yoga Project is run solely on donations and empowers over 250,000 Kenyans a year through the power of yoga. They have 52 AYP teachers who see no boundaries to sharing the practice of yoga. They teach in prisons, schools, special need centers, HIV/AIDS support groups, deaf schools and rural villages.

photo (6)

We arrived at the lab and I was able to purchase one of the last special edition graphic tanks designed in support of AYP for Erin Anderson. The event began with a documentary called “Change: The Africa Yoga Project Story” followed by a beautiful empowering yoga class led by Erin. The event also had food from the Not So Fast non-profit organization which provides not just food those in need but education as well. They work with a local organization in Vancouver to provide nutritious food to Vancouver’s neediest families in an effort to raise funds locally and to inspire involvement elsewhere in other communities. You can read more about this amazing organization on the founder’s blog ‘In Pursuit of More‘. The blog also has tons of delicious and nutritious recipes. My favourite last night were the fruit skewers and tofu topped with pesto and avocado – yum!

photo (7)

photo (9)

I went to the event with 3 other educators from the Whistler store and had a great time. I was filled with gratitude for the opportunity to be here and participate in such an inspiring night. I would love to participate in a fundraiser with AYP and maybe even go on one of their Seva Safari‘s one day. I cannot express how moving last night was for me. I was in the presence of so many lovely people who took the time to attend this event on a rainy Tuesday night in Vancouver in support of change, empowerment and giving back. As an AYP ambassador Erin holds Yoga Jam’s once a month which I’ve heard are big time fun. The Yoga Jam’s raise money and awareness about Africa Yoga Project’s purpose and mission. I am really looking forward to attending one!  I can’t believe I haven’t even been here 72 hrs and I’ve already had such an incredible experience – I can’t wait for what is yet to come!

with love and kindness,

Sarah Alicia Harvison

Leave a Reply

