homemade baba ghanoush

ImageSo summer has finally come to an end. The rain has arrived in Whistler and we’re officially heading into the fall. This past week was really tough as so many amazing friendships I’ve made over the summer suddenly got further and further away as people said goodbye to Whistler summer and headed back to Australia, the UK, and various other parts of Canada. I am eternally grateful for the incredible summer of a lifetime I’ve had and I now have so many beautiful friends all around the world who’s couches I plan on crashing on someday. With the weather changing and a lot of my friends travelling to far off destinations I’ve had a bit more time in the kitchen. I commit to posting and sharing more on my blog as we head into a slower time of year. My good friend Kaitlyn mentioned to me this amazing blog Thug Kitchen. I decided to check it out and was super inspired by this homemade eggplant dip. I love baba ghanoush but recently found out the one from my local grocer has cream and eggs in it, so I took a little spin on Thug Kitchen’s recipe and created my own.

homemade baba ghanoush 

  • 2 eggplants
  • 1 clove of garlic 
  • 2 TB of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 TB of chili powder 
  • half a lemon squeezed 
  • pinch of sea salt 

Image

Simply roast the eggplants on a baking sheet in the oven at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Poke the eggplants to release the heat and then cut them in half. Scoop the flesh into a bowl and mash it up with a fork. If you like a smoother dip you can puree it in a food processor or with a handheld mixer. Then add all the ingredients to your taste and enjoy! I ate this warm with heated up pita bread and it was delicious. It makes more than the photo below, my roommate and I just ate a fair bit first 🙂 

Image

Enjoy! 

with love and dip, 

Sarah Alicia Harvison 

One thought on “homemade baba ghanoush

Leave a Reply

