third generation bean salad

Image

This bean salad reminds me so much of my Oma. She would make it for every picnic, BBQ or summer patio lunch I can remember (she also makes a mean potato salad to come). My mom modified the recipe to include less sugar and oil and then passed it on to me and voila! This is a great protein filled, meat-free alternative that gives you mucho bang for your buck. I hope you like it! 

easy-peasy bean salad

  • 1 can of kidney beans
  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 1 can of green beans
  • 1 can of wax beans 
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 red onion, diced 
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil 
  • 1/3 cup sugar (I used coconut cane sugar)
  • 1/3 cup vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar which was fine but regular white vinegar is probably better)

Rinse the beans, can by can in a strainer in the sink before adding to a big mixing bowl. Add the red pepper, green pepper and red onion. In a separate bowl combine the olive oil, sugar and vinegar to make a dressing. Pour dressing over the bean mixture and mix to combine.

Enjoy! 

PS. You can make the salad without the sugar it just isn’t quite as tasty to be honest. I am trying to think of a better alternative, maybe stevia, agave or honey – I’ll try this again and get back to you! 

with salads and smiles, 

Sarah Alicia Harvison

Leave a Reply

