2014 is for lovers.

Image

Wow. I have been on a bit of a hiatus from this blog. Since my last post I celebrated Halloween as an incredibly convincing Princess Jasmine. Skated on top of Grouse Mountain. Said goodbye to a love. Said hello to a love. Strapped my feet into a snowboard for the first time. Fell of a chairlift. Accidentally went down a black diamond. Watched the sun rise over the mountains at 6000 ft. above sea level on Christmas morning. Linked my turns. Wrote 18 letters. Had the best conversation of my life over a 25 minute gondola ride with a stranger. Bungee jumped off a bridge. Learned a Bollywood dance routine. Drank too many Bailey’s hot chocolates. Sampled most of the yam fries in Whistler. Attended countless yoga classes. Had innumerable dance parties. Spent a ridiculous amount on Skype credit. Missed home more than ever. Felt more at home than ever. Laughed a lot, loved a lot and got a little bit closer to figuring out what I want and who I want to be. 

I’m so excited for what is next. The most exciting part, I couldn’t tell you what it’s going to be. 

All I know is that whatever I choose, I will choose it with all of my heart and with absolute love. I randomly picked this card up one day after yoga. It is one of my favourite definitions of love and I read it often to remind me of my purpose and how I want to live my life. Full of love. 

 

love

like a river flows. In places it is deeper,
but it is always patient, kind and trusting.
Love readily forgives and holds no grudges;
it protects and honours others. There are
no conditions or expectations.
Love flows freely.

 

I couldn’t come back to the blog without sharing a recipe… If anybody reading this works with me you’ve probably noticed me eating it for every meal plus the huge back stock of it in the fridge. Yes, it’s that good. I went to the grocery store to buy quinoa but at $12 I decided to go for the more economical rice-like pasta, orzo. I’d never cooked with orzo before but it turned out incredibly. Verdict: Obsessed. You can put anything you want in this salad. I went a bit crazy and put all my favourites in, feel free to dumb it down. 

Image

Mixed Orzo Salad

  • one bag of orzo pasta
  • a handful of cranberries
  • 20 pitted kalamata olives cut in half 
  • a pint of cherry tomatoes 
  • a medium zucchini cut into chunks 
  • two handfuls of pecan halves 
  • a large bunch of flat leaf parsley chopped
  • a jar of artichoke hearts with oil 
  • a can of chickpeas (drained and rinsed) 
  • a can of kidney beans (drained and rinsed)

Cook the whole bag of orzo in 8 cups of boiling water. When tender, drain and pour into a large mixing bowl. Add all the above ingredients plus or minus any more that you choose and mix well. Do this immediately as the orzo will stick together if you let it sit too long. I separated the salad into containers for my lunch and when I eat it drizzle a little bit of extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar on top and if I’m feeling crazy a bit of arugula or ‘rocket’ as you Aussies call it! 

I hope you love this salad as much as I do! 

with love and kindness, 

Sarah Alicia Harvison

Leave a Reply

