roasted eggplant and zucchini pizza topped with caramelized onions, artichokes and arugula

Image

I love pizza but I am trying to cut dairy out of my diet. I don’t drink milk or buy any dairy products but that enticing piece of pizza from Fat Tony’s has a tendency to call my name. Cheese is my weakness. I made this vegan pizza with all of my favourites on it and I honestly didn’t miss the cheese at all.

After last night, I can also add snowmobiling on Cougar mountain to the list of things I’ve gotten up to in Whistler recently. Snowmobiling was followed by pizza and beer around a campfire with all of my girlfriends. I indulged in some veggie pizza but passed on the beer for some perrier – that counts for something right? haha. I could smell the smokey campfire in my hair this morning and loved it.

I hope you guys love this pizza as much as me. This is the first of many experimental pizza’s I plan on creating. The dough was store bought from a local baker and has an egg in it. Next time I’m going to try to make the dough myself. 

Roasted Eggplant and Zucchini Pizza 

  • 1 fresh pizza dough (bought or homemade)
  • a few shakes of vegetable spice 
  • 1 large eggplant sliced 
  • 1/2 a zucchini sliced 
  • 1 jar of artichokes in oil
  • a few dashes of worcestershire sauce  
  • a few dashes of your preferred hot sauce
  • 1/2 cup of tomato sauce, or crushed tomatoes 
  • 1 large white onion
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar 
  • a few dashes of balsamic
  • 2 TB extra virgin olive oil 
  • 1/4 cup white or red wine (whichever works) 
  • 2 C of arugula (rocket) 

Toss the eggplant and zucchini in olive oil and vegetable spice and lay flat on a baking sheet. Place in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. While vegetables are roasting place skillet on the stove top over medium heat. Heat the olive oil in the pan. Add the sugar and keep stirring to let it dissolve into the olive oil. Add the onion to the pan. Cook until the onion is translucent. Add the balsamic vinegar and the wine and let simmer on low continually stirring until the onions get a sticky coating and become caramelized. Set aside. 

Flip the vegetables and let them get another 5-10 minutes on the opposite side. Spread the dough out on a well oiled pan. In a mixing bowl, mix together the tomato sauce, worcestershire sauce and the hot sauce (I like to use Frank’s) until you get your desired taste. Spread this onto the base of your pizza. Take the vegetables out of the oven and spread across the pizza. Top with the artichokes and then sprinkle the caramelized onions on top. Bake for another 15 minutes or until the dough has puffed up and baked through. 

Take out of the oven and top with the arugula. If you’d like a little bit more sweetness, feel free to finish with a drizzle of balsamic reduction. 

Enjoy! 

with love and artichokes, 

Sarah Alicia 

One thought on “roasted eggplant and zucchini pizza topped with caramelized onions, artichokes and arugula

Leave a Reply

