vegan chocolate peanut butter cup cookies

log

I had a beautiful morning.

I went to a boxing class this morning with four of my girlfriends, followed by cappuccinos, a restorative yoga class with Tina James and the most incredible vegan smoothie.

Last night we had an event in-store called ‘Food for Thought’ with our four ambassadors. They spoke about their upbringing, food choices, lifestyle and how they eat to fuel their body. We heard from two yogis, a CrossFit athlete and a runner, soon-to-be naturopath. It was so amazing to hear how these four incredibly fit, accomplished, strong, beautiful women all chose to fuel their bodies in different ways. They have such a wealth of knowledge and I could have listened to them speak for hours.

Personally, I am about half-way through ‘Yoga and Vegetarianism’ by co-founder of Jivamukti Yoga, Sharon Gannon. The book is so well-written, weaving the practice of yoga with facts about vegetarianism and the meat and dairy industry. My own path of eating has been interesting. Before moving to Whistler I didn’t eat red meat and very little dairy. When I moved here 10 months ago I decided to cut out meat all together but would consume fish and dabbled in dairy. I would still eat Greek yogurt and if a salad had some goats cheese or feta on it I’d eat it. I’d indulge in a slice of veggie pizza now and then.

I feel that in my life I dabble. I have my hand in a lot of cookie jars (literally and metaphorically) at once. Through reading this book I realize how disconnected so many of us are from our food. The women last night, all eat so differently but are perfectly aligned in the connection they have with what they put in their mouths. They eat consciously and with purpose. They choose to fuel their body with different food but they are connected with what food works for them, where it comes from and why they choose to eat it.

I have decided to fully commit to eating vegan until I leave for Bali on March 10th. The dairy is a convenience thing. I don’t feel good when I eat it, I don’t particularly crave it, I don’t buy it at the grocery store – but if there is a cheese tray at a party…I destroy it. If there is pizza at a staff meeting, I can’t help myself. I am going to end the dabble and commit.

And with that declaration, obviously comes – a cookie.

blog2

Vegan Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cookies 

**side note: this recipe does have a fair bit of sugar which I’m sure you could cut down on, also the recipe I was inspired by said that this produced 2 dozen cookies, mine made 10…haha

F0r the Chocolate Dough

  • 1C olive oil
  • 1C sugar (I used coconut cane sugar)
  • 1/4 C pure maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2C all-purpose flour
  • 1/3C unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

For the PB Filling

  • 3/4C natural salted peanut butter, crunchy or creamy style (I added 2 tablespoons of almond butter)
  • 2/3C powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons almond milk (I should’ve used less here, you want the filling consistency thick but not runny)
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease one baking sheet with olive or coconut oil.

To start in a large mixing bowl, combine oil, sugar, maple syrup, almond milk and vanilla. Mix until smooth then stir in flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix to form a moist dough.

In a small mixing bowl, mix together peanut butter, almond butter, powdered sugar, 2 tablespoons of almond milk and vanilla to form a moist but firm dough. If peanut butter dough is dry and crumbly (natural peanut butters have varying moisture contents), stir in the remaining tablespoon of almond milk. Mine was very viscous. Here I would’ve eliminated the almond milk because the added almond butter already makes it a bit creamier.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease one baking sheet with olive or coconut oil.

To create the cookies take a spoonful of the chocolate dough and roll it into a ball, flatten into a disc like shape. Add a small scoop of the peanut butter filling to the center. Pinch the sides to trap the peanut butter inside and then roll in your hands to form a chocolate ball with peanut butter in the center. Place on baking sheet. My chocolate dough was rather gooey so I created one disc, put the peanut butter in the center, then I created a second disc and covered it. This created a pocket like effect before rolling them into rather large balls to place onto the baking sheet. Make sure your cookies are fairly uniform in size or some will bake much faster than the others, in turn making them much harder… (lesson learned)

Bake the cookies for approximately 15 minutes. Take them out and let them cool and settle for about 5 minutes before enjoying them!

Enjoy them with a big glass of unsweetened almond milk, my favourite!

I was rather proud of these cookies because I am a shit baker. I love to cook and experiment, toss a little bit of this in, use up the rest of that etc. Experimenting in baking is much less successful but these worked out!

with love, kindness and cookies,

Sarah Alicia Harvison

Leave a Reply

