vegan walnut banana bread

Image

It’s official. 

I’m officially the best wife…to myself.

I spent my day off snowboarding with a girlfriend, drinking peppermint shnapps induced cappuccinos on the mountain, having lunch in the village, coming home to have a cat nap, read a book and bake this legendary banana cake! All in a days work my friends, all in a days work. 

I have had the BIGGEST sweet tooth lately. It’s extreme. Like contemplating running to the gas station at 11PM to get some extra dark chocolate extreme. So here I was at 8PM feeling the sweet tooth coming on and instead of resorting to buying junk I decided to bake something with what I had in the house and it turned out better than I could have imagined. 

I venture to say this is better than regular banana bread (mom yours is still incredible). Now I know the sugar content is rather high but hey people, we all deserve a little treat sometimes – am I right, or am I right? 

Image

Vegan Walnut Banana Bread 

(adapted from dairyfreecooking.about.com) 

Ingredients 

  • 2 C all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 C white granulated sugar 
  • 1/4 C coconut cane sugar or dark brown sugar 
  • 3/4 t. baking soda
  • 3/4 t. salt
  • 3/4 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 C unsweetened almond milk 
  • 1 t. apple cider vinegar
  • 2 cups mashed banana, from about 4 large very ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup olive oil 
  • 2 T. maple syrup
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C walnuts 

Preheat the oven to 350 F and lightly grease a pan of your choice with olive oil. Since I live in this tiny condo in Whistler with the most mismatched kitchen utensils ever, I used what I had, a 9X9. 

In a medium sized mixing bowl mix together the flour, sugars, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. 

In a large mixing bowl stir together the almond milk and the apple cider vinegar. Let sit for two minutes. Meanwhile mash your bananas. I used ripe ones I had in the freezer and just defrosted them in the microwave for 1 minute. I think using these made the cake even more moist than it would’ve been. Next whisk together the bananas, olive oil, maple syrup and vanilla until well combined. Add the dry ingredients until just combined, be sure not to overmix here. Fold in the walnuts. I found the batter to be rather thick, but when reading other comments other people had theirs a bit more viscous. Yolo. 

Smooth the batter into your pan. Sprinkle a bit more brown sugar on top as well as some walnuts for garnish. Bake for approx. 1hr. However, I usually just sit around and keep checking in until I feel it’s ready. My cake is super moist and I like it that way. I think mine baked for probably about 45 minutes. 

This cake is legitimately kick ass. 

I hope you love it – spread on some vegan butter or earth balance for extra decadence! 

with mushy banana love and kindness, 

Sarah Alicia Harvison 

 

Leave a Reply

